for cookies and for kale

eating well to live well

Blonde is Better

Leave a comment

Each time I get ready to head back to school I promise myself that my day will be spent packing and organizing. And each time I spend the day baking. A lot. Of course there is no real occasion to celebrate or even request for goodies, but it seems imperative that I take advantage of my oven by stuffing it with loaves and cookies all day long. Today was no exception, so here’s to hoping there are some hungry friends waiting for me back at school!

I stumbled upon a recipe for blondies a year ago after reminiscing about the butterscotch brownies from my elementary years (if you went to Country Day, you know exactly what I’m talking about). These blondies use a combination of heath bars and chocolate chips to make them extra special but I would imagine there are about 1000 different combinations of mix-ins that would work. This time I decided to brown the butter before baking the blondies and they were awesome! It really only takes an extra minute or two of simmering to take the butter from melted to brown and turn your blondies into little squares of toffee goodness. I was surprised at just how well they turned out, but then again any recipe with sugar, butter, more sugar and more butter will probably be better than edible. I would definitely recommend these if you are looking for a change from the typical brownie or cookie.

Toffee Blondies

8 T. butter

1 c. brown sugar

1 large egg

1 t. vanilla

1 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 t. salt

1/2 t. baking powder

1/8 t. baking soda

1/2 c. chopped Heath bars (I think I used 2)

1/2 c. chocolate chips

To brown butter:

  • Place butter in skillet on medium-high heat and melt
  • Once it starts to brown, stir vigorously until it turns a dark amber–be careful, it happens fast!
  • When butter is brown, remove from heat immediately and add to bowl with brown sugar

For the batter:

  • Cream sugar and butter together and then mix with egg and vanilla
  • Add dry ingredients and combine
  • Add mix-ins and pour into greased 8×8 inch pan
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes, a toothpick inserted into the middle should not come out clean. Do not over-bake.

*Because these brownies are filled with toffee, they harden up quite a bit in the fridge. Store at room temperature.

Author: For Cookies and For Kale

I'm a 2nd year college student studying french and medicine. I like biking, chocolate and greens. Lots and lots of greens. Here is my blog.

Leave a comment