for cookies and for kale

eating well to live well

Green Beginnings

1 Comment

kale 1Happy New Year!

Now that the holidays are over, ’tis the season of resolutions. Personally, I have never been a fan. I make resolutions all the time (use my planner, keep my drawers organized, eat more kale, eat fewer cookies etc.), some I keep, others I don’t. So January first isn’t really a monumental occasion for me. I do, however, appreciate a nice post-holiday cleanse. By that, I really mean just throwing a few more vegetables into my diet. And lucky me, Santa made that extra easy this year by gifting me with a brand new, shiny, beautiful Vitamix. I know there is a lot of hype surrounding these things but dare I say it’s valid? It truly is a magical machine. Nuts, carrots, ice, you name it–throw it in and the Vitamix spits it out in velvet. Better than water to wine.

I have always been a fan of green smoothies. Some might find the color off-putting but I like it. I like it a lot. Green Monsters, as they are often called, are the easiest way to eat tons of nutrients without the calories. Even if you don’t love the taste, it’s easy to fall in love with the idea of a drinkable panacea. And so, I made the perfect smoothie for the New Year, filled with greens, oranges and yellow. The key to a perfect Green Monster is using frozen fruit instead of ice. I like to avoid ice if possible, because the frozen fruit blends much smoother. I also use bananas that are not overly ripe as they tend to blend better. You can adjust the amount of liquid depending on how thick you like your smoothie. The more frozen fruit you use, the more liquid you will need. I think unsweetened almond milk is perfect for this. I like to use a small piece of ginger but if you are a fan, feel free to add more. Please excuse the nail polish.

kale 2

Perfect Green Monster

1.25 c. unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1 small piece of ginger (marble-sized)

1 small carrot, peeled and chopped

2-3 stalks of curly Kale, deveined

1/2 banana, frozen

1/4 c. mango, frozen

1/4 c. pineapple, frozen

  • Place ingredients into blender in the order listed above and blend until smooth.
Author: For Cookies and For Kale

I'm a 2nd year college student studying french and medicine. I like biking, chocolate and greens. Lots and lots of greens. Here is my blog.

One thought on “Green Beginnings

  1. Ugh I’m so hungry.

Leave a Reply

