for cookies and for kale

eating well to live well

Hidden Treasures

1 Comment

I never thought it was possible, but it seems like I may be encountering more kale than I could possibly eat. All of a sudden, the grocery stores and farmer’s markets in Durham are literally OVERFLOWING with kale, chard, collards and sweet potatoes. As much as I would love to take every beautiful bunch of leaves home with me, I have to resist. Otherwise I end up eating kale for breakfast and kale for dinner in an effort to use every precious leaf (no seriously, it happens). Don’t worry, I make up for it in cookies (or this stuff).

And so, it only made sense that after picking up a few adorable orange spuds at the community garden, that I mix them with some friendly greens. I will admit it was my friend, Georgina, who did all the dirty work. She came to visit all the way from D.C. only to dip her hands in to soil for some potatoes she didn’t even get to eat (sorry, George!). I did put them to good use, though! This salad has pretty simple ingredients, but they make a great fall salad. I used lacinato kale, also known as dinosaur kale or black kale, because it’s a less bitter than regular kale, flatter and easier to chop up in salad. It is a little tough, though, so it needs some massaging (yes, kale like massages, too!). The leaves soften up quite a bit and go well with the roasted sweet potatoes. I added some dried cherries and toasted walnuts to make it a little more special. You can serve this salad at room temperature or keep it in the fridge until you want a full dose of colorful eats.

Kale and Sweet Potato Salad

2 large sweet potatoes

1 bunch of lacinato kale

1/4 c. olive oil

1/4 c. apple cider vinegar

1 t. honey

1/4 t. salt

1/2 c. dried cherries

3/4 c. toasted walnuts, roughly chopped*

For the sweet potatoes:

  • Wash sweet potatoes thoroughly, you may peel them if you don’t like the skin
  • Chop into small cubes of even size
  • Drizzle with olive oil
  • Roast at 350 degrees for ~40 minutes until soft, stirring after the first 15 minutes and let cool

For the kale:

  • Wash and devein kale, chop roughly and transfer to bowl
  • Whisk together olive oil, vinegar, honey and salt and pour over kale
  • Using your hands, massage kale until it begins to wilt
  • Add sweet potatoes, cherries, walnuts and combine.

*to toast walnuts, spread them evenly on a baking sheet and bake for ~8 minutes at 350 degrees, stirring halfway through

Author: For Cookies and For Kale

I'm a 2nd year college student studying french and medicine. I like biking, chocolate and greens. Lots and lots of greens. Here is my blog.

One thought on “Hidden Treasures

  1. i ate this and i’m telling you its AMAZING!!! so fresh and delicious!

Leave a Reply

