for cookies and for kale

eating well to live well

Reap What You Sow

2 Comments

It’s always nice to have a weekend well spent. This was definitely one of them. I managed to drag a couple of friends to the campus Farm Festival. This year’s was beet themed ,complete with beet juice, beet beer, beet ice cream, beet cake and more. And so, the beet lovers united for a meal of local beef and beet stew, beet salad, cous cous and beet green pesto (a green I didn’t know about?!). The campus farm works with the school catering service to provide a ton of produce for the dining halls. I can’t say I have had much experience in the soil but the perfect rows of greens and vegetables made my heart a little warm. So did our new friend, Elerby.

Sunday morning started early as my high school friend, Abby and I geared up for our first half-marathon. I signed up for the race in the summer and got Abby, on board. We started at 7:30 a.m. with almost 5,000 other women, although it didn’t feel all that crowded. Going into the race, I just wanted to finish but it turned out to be way more fun than I expected. Besides for a hilly last few miles, it was definitely one of those “high on life” experiences. Actually, I think I’m still HOL. Maybe because my friends showed up with some bombass posters (THANK YOU!!!). I followed a training plan that I found online, which allowed a lot of flexibility as far as cross-training goes. I was pretty nervous going into the race that I wasn’t prepared but I think adrenaline was all I needed. I ended up finishing in 1:55.26 (8:49 pace). The only thing that may have been exciting than finishing was the post-race meal. Biscuits rock.

I’ll be back with more exciting (and edible) posts by the weekend!

Author: For Cookies and For Kale

I'm a 2nd year college student studying french and medicine. I like biking, chocolate and greens. Lots and lots of greens. Here is my blog.

2 thoughts on “Reap What You Sow

  1. Congrats on the half marathon!!!!!! And great pictures, thanks for sharing.

  2. I’m famous!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

